Elections – Early Voting Starts April 24th!

History of Conner Harrington Republican Women

The Collin County Republican Women’s Club was organized in the home of its Interim President, Gladys Harrington, on November 22, 1971 with 16 Charter Members. The Club was renamed Conner Harrington Republican Women in honor of the late Conner Harrington, who served as Plano Mayor, State Republican Executive Committeeman, and was the son of Gladys Harrington.

The Club began with night meetings to provide an opportunity for working women and women with small children to become involved in the political process in Collin County. It was soon dubbed “The Night Club”.

CHRW met at the homes of members until they moved to a permanent meeting place at Republican Headquarters. The charter members decided early on that all business would be conducted in open meetings in order to include all members in the business of the Club. Out of the membership evolved leadership in the Republican Party of Texas and TFRW, as well as local, district and statewide elected officials.

Members of CHRW have served and continued to serve in positions in both TFRW, NFRW and on SREC at the district and state level. Among those include Dixie Clem, who served as District Director, Membership Chairman for TFRW and as a member of SREC; Jody Rushton who served as VP Finance on the TFRW Board, President TFRW and is Member at Large for NFRW; Jane Yancey who served on SREC; LaVeta Sealy who served on TFRW Board as VP Programs plus several appointed chairs including State Newsletter Editor for TFRW which won “Outstanding Publication” at the National level. Also Mandy Tschoepe, who served three terms on SREC; Lissa Smith, who served as District Director and Vice President of Legislation of TFRW; and Chris Gilbert, who has served as District Director for TFRW.

CHRW has won the National Federation of Republican Women Diamond Award, the TFRW John Goodwin Tower Award of Excellence, and the TFRW Campaign Activities Award. These awards symbolize political and community service at its highest level.

From a membership of sixteen to its present membership level, CHRW has taken its place as one of the most vital and energetic clubs in the State. That same vitality, congeniality and camaraderie that existed in the initial meeting continue to exemplify its ever-changing membership, blending youth and experience into a dynamic organization.

2016 Goals

Help get Republican candidates elected to office from County to State and Federal offices. CHRW members volunteer to block walk, call, serve as campaign managers, and support candidates in every way we can.

Support the Community – volunteerism and community involvement is primary to CHRW Members. We donate and serve refreshments at the Plano Memorial Day remembrance, have winning entries for our 4th of July Parade floats, serve on numerous boards and donate to local food pantries, shelters and causes. One of our most significant contributions is our scholarship program.

Educate our members and guest through monthly programs, monthly newsletter and special events, our website and Facebook.  We host officials, authors, party members and others at our meetings and strive to bring creative and fun programs.

Have fun! None of the above is possible without having fun, laughter and companionship at all CHRW events.


Committee Chairs

By Laws Lissa Smith
Caring for America Laveta Sealy
Chaplin/Cares & Concerns Joanna Kriss
Hospitality/Meetings Peggy Chappell
Literacy, MELP Jana Becker
Americanism/Local Patriotic Events Anna Hale
Newsletter, Communications Vicki Meyers
PR Joan Garrett
Senior Citizens Dixie Clem
Phone Tree Open
Voter Registration/Outreach Janet Stovall
Ways & Means Angela Miner
Scholarship Amanda Jackson
Parliamentarian Open
Website Chris Downs
President Emeritus Andrea Thompson

CHRW Award Recipients

Our club is blessed with many talented ladies who have been recognized for their contributions and leadership by local, state and national Republican organizations.

NFRW Dorothy Kabis Internship

1991 awarded to Mandy (Innis) Tschoepe

TFRW Award for “Ten Outstanding Women”  Seven members of Conner Harrington Republican Women’s Club have received the prestigious TFRW “Top 10 Outstanding” award, which is announced at the biannual State Convention, for their contributions to CHRW, the Texas Federation, the Republican Party, and their community. Prior recipients include:

Dixie Clem La Veta Sealy
Jane Yancey Phyllis Cole
Kay Baird Sandra Halsey
Mandy Tschoepe